Select a page

Banking News

Westpac NZ Chief becomes NZBA chair

Westpac NZ Chief becomes NZBA chair

(10 April 2013 – New Zealand) Westpac New Zealand Chief Executive Peter Clare was elected chair of the New Zealand Bankers’ Association (NZBA) this month. ASB Bank Chief Executive Barbara Chapman was elected deputy chair.

"I look forward to working with colleagues from across the industry," said Clare.

"We have a strong and stable banking sector which invests in New Zealand and supports the needs of households and businesses. That’s particularly apparent when we look at the experience of other countries at the moment."

Westpac takes over the chair bank role from ANZ.

NZBA Chief Executive Kirk Hope said, "I would like to acknowledge David Hisco’s contribution as chair over the last year, and welcome Peter Clare to the role."

Association membership is open to any bank registered under the Reserve Bank of New Zealand Act 1989. Currently the association has 14 members.

The association’s governing body is its council, comprising the Chief Executive of each member bank.
East & Partners's avatar

Comment on this article


Your comments will not be published. Required fields are marked *


Please enter the word you see in the image below:


Subscribe to our mailing list

Sign up now to keep up-to-date with the latest
market news and insights in B2B banking.

* indicates required

For more information please read our Terms and Conditions and Privacy Statements.